top of page

Car Camping

Updated: Apr 11, 2023


While I do have stories to tell, I thought this week I’d take a moment to share some travel tips I’ve learned on my (relatively short) journey so far.


Stealth camping is a mainstay for many folks who live full time on the road. Often, stealth campers will try to find spots that don’t necessarily allow overnight vehicle sleeping – places like residential or city streets, hotel parking lots, hospitals, and even cemeteries. For me, I must say I just can’t do it yet! Whether my parents instilled a FEAR OF THE LAW, or I just have an intrinsic pull to play by the rules, I gravitate to places that allow, if not welcome, overnight parking / car camping. It’s kind of like – if someone doesn’t want me there…well, it just doesn’t feel right to me.


That being said, it would be a herculean task to know the municipal, county and state laws for each location in which one wishes to sleep. The entire state of Florida doesn’t want anyone sleeping in their vehicles for more than three hours at a stretch in any given state-run rest area. Marion County, Florida doesn’t want folks living in their cars. Other counties and towns dotted across the state welcome car campers and provide open lots free of charge for overnighters. West of the Mississippi things are a whole lot different, with vast swaths of public land open for camping.

When I first set out, my intention was to mainly stay at campgrounds. Of course, I was lucky enough to find a campground that I wanted to stay at for nearly three months. My other overnight experiences have included Cracker Barrel and Planet Fitness parking lots, a friend’s driveway, and dispersed camping. I do plan to try a Loves or Pilot truck stop at some point. However, I have twice now seen no overnight parking signs at Loves - which is why #1 (below) is so important to me.


Here’s how I roll…


1) Call ahead and ask if overnight parking is allowed. Not all CBs or PFs allow overnight parking. *24 hour PFs are the ones most likely to allow overnight parking.


2) Have a Planet Fitness membership ($25 a month) which allows me to use any PF in the world. Showers, massage chairs, and water bottle refills baby! Not to mention feeling better about using their parking lots.


3) Keep track of places I call and visit to note who allows what and whether I liked it or not.


4) Arrive early and scope out the scene from a distance. I always feel best if there are several other campers. Set up my rig and then find a place to park.


5) Find shade.


6) Once I find my parking place, I do not get out of my vehicle for any reason. I crawl from the front seat to the back, put up shades, and welcome myself home.


7) Do not let anyone see me sleeping in my car.


8) If I want to take a shower at PF first, I park in a different spot from the one I sleep in. Sometimes I will leave the area entirely and return a bit later.


9) Always have a backup place. Last week I started at a PF, felt a bit off, left to go to CB which was right next to…you guessed it…a dog kennel, returned to original PF and slept just fine.


10) Dispose of all garbage somewhere else.


11) Don’t overstay. I try to leave before 9 a.m.

12) Share my location with at least one family member or friend using either "share my location" on phone or sending screen shot of coordinates.


13) Have fans fully charged at all times in the hotter weather. Sometimes I let them out of the car so they can applaud from a distance.


14) Make sleeping area smaller in colder weather by cordoning off front seats with a blanket or creating a blanket tent over my bed.


15) Let friends and family know I am completely self contained and happy to visit them as well as their driveway anytime 😊.


16) Be a nice mom so my daughter keeps inviting me to stay with her for a week here and there.


In addition to finding places to sleep, it is also necessary to find places to hang during the day when you’re not traveling. I find public parks and libraries to have shady and quiet parking lots. And, of course, who wouldn’t want to be inside a library for the day?


Finally, I was fortunate enough to recently try my hand at dispersed camping with my friend Donna for three nights in the Ocala National Forest – an inspiring, if not somewhat eye-opening experience to be sure. But that, dear reader, is an event-filled story for another day. Tip: Try the hip camp app to find unique and affordable alternatives to state campgrounds.


Other places that may allow overnight parking include Walmart, Cabela's, Bass Pro, Sam's Club, Camping World, rest areas and I'm sure I'm missing some! Add your favorite places in the comments.

 

Check out Gear I Love for links to products I use and honest reviews.

Be sure to subscribe to the blog here.

Recent Posts

See All

C

2022 The Midlife Mile

bottom of page