top of page

Spare Me

Updated: Dec 19, 2022


2015 RAV4 Spare Tire Compartment

Did you know a Toyota RAV4 is 136 cubic feet or if you'd prefer, approximately 90 square feet? Minus the engine compartment, the RAV4 provides around 98 cubic feet and 60 square feet of passenger space. This makes for the tiniest of tiny homes and yet one in which a remarkable amount of stuff can be, well…stuffed.


One of my primary goals as a full time traveler is to leave as light a carbon footprint as possible. I also recognize that I do my psychological and emotional best in an uncluttered and minimalist environment. I definitely knew I wanted everything as tucked away as possible for my new lifestyle. My backseats had already been removed prior to going full time, and a two person platform had been built. I was now a singleton and yet also needed room for kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and den.


One of the first things I did when I decided to live in my compact SUV was to check out the spare tire area. Did I even have a spare? (JK – I know I did.) What I didn’t remember was how to use it or even how to take it out of the car. So, I investigated and took it out. I removed its Styrofoam nest. I stood there in my driveway staring at this empty pocket of space and I began to wonder. What if…I just didn’t carry a spare? My guess is you, dear reader, are either aghast with worry, or you are nodding along with my cleverness. I’m hedging 80/20 on aghast.


When I began to really consider the probability of me changing a spare tire at any time in my future life, I knew it just wasn’t going to happen. Let’s face it, I could barely get the thing out my car. It seemed to me that I would need to contact my road service to change it for me, and I would need a new tire sooner or later anyway, so I opted for AAA premium, fix a flat, and a lighter vehicle.


I took my idea to the SUV/Car Living & Camping Women Only fb group I had joined. Well. This wasn’t a fabulous idea according to almost everyone. The main concerns were the fact that AAA does not provide service on unpaved roads. Some folks also reported long wait times. As I am not an off-roader (yet), I’m comfortable going spare-less for now. And either way, I’ll be waiting for AAA.


The space I freed up was a gamechanger. I no longer had to consider traveling with a rooftop cargo carrier, a priority in maintaining some anonymity on the road and keeping my load relatively light. And, I now had plenty of space for my tent, stove, kitchenware, and more.


So, if you’re wondering if losing the spare is an option, consider your own particular travel style and check back to see how I made out. I may be blogging from the side of the road!

2015 RAV4 Spare Tire Compartment

Full of My Stuff

159 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

C

2022 The Midlife Mile

bottom of page