top of page

Common Culture

Updated: Apr 21, 2023

Common Culture PART I




"There is magic in the moon, sun, soil, and rain. Native living will ease and solve the majority’s pain.

Painful separation of land, animal, and man. The painful complexities of this day’s modernized scam.” – Moon & Magic


We stand as individuals collectively.” - Peter Massas


One of my biggest fears and aversions in life has been encountering and having to interact with those whose ideology or spirituality is overtly in opposition to my own. My mind’s tendency toward aggressive and intolerant thinking was never more apparent than during the pandemic, as we saw compassion and community wane with each tick of the COVID clock. Indeed, my thoughts were so dark toward others whom I judged “wrong”, that I finally mustered the courage to begin attending meditation and dharma classes – just in the nick of time.

When I took my leave of the sticks and bricks lifestyle, I knew I would have to be around people more. This was both a goal and a challenge – a real leap into the fear and anger that was well embedded since childhood. Aside from the few, I had determined people hadn’t particularly done me much good over the years (and I felt I hadn't done them much good either), and as my innate introversion grew, so did my complacency. The walls in my house weren’t benefiting from my practice – it was time to take this show on the road.

This place, this “undisclosed location” campground that I have had such great fortune to find, provides a rare opportunity for daily meditation, study and solitary reflection as well as the chance to meet and commune with a wide variety of people. Many are like minded, which makes my transition toward a more community-based life easier, and which also increases my awareness of the common threads which weave their way through so many seemingly different ways of living. I have met a psychedelic life coach in training, the founder of Circus of Purpose, a wolfpack, and Rainbows. I have learned about the land share movement and intentional communities. And, I have learned about the different ways people express their compassion and love by taking care of one another, and the earth, in an unequivocal and absolute way. Mama Donna and Dan, owners of this place, are extra-ordinary examples of people who take care of others in countless ways – from a warm meal, to a place to live, to a much needed conversation or hug – without ever expecting or thinking about the return. It is organic, authentic living that embraces our interdependence and prioritizes the needs of others. And, they provide others with the space to do the same.

My first weekend at this campground, the wolfpack arrived. As I got to know them (there was no escaping!), I learned that this unique group had come together through their shared love of the outdoors. They are a group that is diverse in all ways imaginable. These folks speak to me on such an emotional level. What they are saying, even if it’s not intended, is – we are together, our commonalities are stronger than our differences, and we choose community over division. By weekend’s end – guess who was their newest cub? I am dubious about the initiation, however (LOL).

Undisclosed location is much like being at an outdoor show or music festival, with all the fixings. There is a communal outdoor kitchen, a stage, a fire pit where folks gather in the evenings, nature trails, an outdoor shower, and plenty of space to spread out. Music is the theme (they have their own radio station!) and at night – oooh the lights make this groovy place vibe even more. On any given day, spontaneous live performances occur around the fire, or on stage. And, you can have as much or as little of it as you like. Convenient if you embrace the 10 p.m. bedtime as much as I do. Most days are like being on retreat. But when it bustles – it bustles!

Many people who are drawn to this place live what we mainstreamers consider a non-traditional lifestyle, living off grid in a sustainable, eco-conscious way which also allows space for helping others. Through the eyes of songwriters and nomadic travelers Moon and Magic who played for us here a week ago, I was awakened to a deeper way of living an interconnected life – one that fulfills our obligation to the earth through a continued day by day, hour by hour awareness of consumption. Their goals of sustainability and caring for the earth are reflected in “Circus of Purpose,” a not-for-profit that focuses on “performance, education, permaculture, and community building.” They are members of The Garden (actually we are all members of The Garden if we wish to be), an intentional land share community in Tennessee which offers anyone who wants to stay a home and a place to contribute to sustainable, off-grid leaderless (leader-FULL) living. The Garden collective is designed for low impact living, re/learning earth and bush skills, and allowing nature to show us how to live. It is a place where everyone works and everyone eats healthy, organic food.

Each day that goes by here, I am open more to other people and feel the soft spot in my heart become a place of connection and understanding. I also further my awareness of my own personal consumption and waste and try to adjust my actions accordingly. From time to time, I catch myself in old patterns of irritation and desire to be a hermit and live in the woods not to be bothered by another living soul. But here I find that I can be both interconnected and solitary. Indeed, we are individuals each working on our own “stuff” but with the understanding that we are together. Ah…it’s almost too easy here at undisclosed location. I can even co-exist with the armadillos. Let’s see what happens when I move on down the road and seek harmony and community with those whom I don’t agree as much. I have a feeling that is when the real work will begin.


Stay tuned for Common Culture Part II…Rainbows and musicians and artists…oh my!


NOTE: Be sure to check out the newly updated GEAR section of this website if you are interested in learning what I have found useful...and not so useful on my journey so far.

324 views13 comments

Recent Posts

See All

C

2022 The Midlife Mile

bottom of page